Statement on further evidence of abuses committed by the XPCC

July 27, 2022


A paper published today by Sheffield Hallam University has revealed further evidence detailing the role of the Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps (XPCC) in implementing the Chinese government’s brutal campaign of persecution against the Uyghurs and other ethnic and religious minorities in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR).

The report details how over the last five years the XPCC, the PRC government’s paramilitary corporate conglomerate, has operationalised systematic programmes of forced migration, forced labour, mass internment, land expropriation, repressive policing and religious persecution against the Uyghurs and other groups. The report finds that the XPCC acts on the orders of senior Chinese Communist Party officials to play a critical and central role in what a growing body of legal opinion considers to be atrocities amounting to Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity in the region.

The Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China (IPAC) calls on democratic states to take urgent action to hold the XPCC to account for its abuses, including:

  • Trade sanctions against the XPCC and its corporate holdings, including asset freezes and export controls against the 2,873 companies internationally in which the XPCC holds a majority stake, in addition to the sanctions already imposed on the XPCC Public Security Bureau.
  • Magnitsky-style sanctions against senior XPCC and Chinese Communist Party officials responsible for repressive policies in the XUAR, including Chen Quanguo, Peng Jiarui and Sun Jinlong.
  • Reforming modern slavery legislation to ban the import of goods made by the XPCC and other entities responsible for forced labour in the XUAR.


Reinhard Bütikofer, Member of the European Parliament

Michael Brand, Member of the German Bundestag

Malcolm Byrne, Member of the Seanad Éireann

Samuel Cogolati, Member of the Belgian Chamber of Representatives  

The Honourable Irwin Cotler,  PC, OC, OQ, Canada

Uffe Elbaek, Member of the Danish Folketing

André Gattolin⁩, Member of the French Senate

Avdullah Hoti, Member of the Assembly of the Republic of Kosovo

Elisabet Lann, Deputy Mayor, Gothenburg, Sweden

Tom van der Lee, Member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands

Fatmir Mediu, Member of the Albanian Parliament

Anotonio Miloshoski MP, Member of the Assembly of the Republic of Macedonia

Fabian Molina, Member of the National Council of Switzerland

Alexandru Muraru, Member of the Romanian Chamber of Deputies

Simon O’Connor MP, Member of the New Zealand House of Representatives

⁨Žygimantas Pavilionis, Member of the Lithuanian Seimas

⁨Dovilė Šakalienė MP, Member of the Lithuanian Seimas

⁨Cătălin Teniță MP, Member of the Romanian Chamber of Deputies

Barry Ward, Member of the Seanad Éireann

Next Article