Statement on the Opening of the 20th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party

October 14, 2022

The opening of the 20th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) once again reveals the determination of Xi Jinping and the CCP to consolidate its authoritarian rule over the People’s Republic of China (PRC).

Xi’s anticipated extension of a third term in power is a clear signal that the CCP has no intention of moderating its belligerent policies at home or abroad. The CCP under Xi’s leadership has perpetrated industrial scale human rights abuses in the Uyghur Region, violated international agreements on Hong Kong’s autonomy and provided tacit support to Russia’s brutal invasion of Ukraine while ramping up military threats against Taiwan. The PRC government after the 20th National Congress will continue to be a threat to human rights and the peace and stability of the international rules based order.

Xi’s re-selection will also see a concentration of power not seen since the Mao era, with the CCP’s authoritarian rule transformed into a personal dictatorship. By securing a third term, the CCP has given licence for Xi to continue his repressive political agenda indefinitely. At this pivotal moment, IPAC stands in solidarity with the Chinese people, Uyghurs, Tibetans, Hong Kongers and all others who have endured the CCP’s oppression and have had no say in choosing their leaders.

As the CCP shows no sign of rolling back on its oppressive policies, IPAC urges democratic states to renew their efforts to safeguard human rights, democracy and the international rules based order. IPAC calls urgent action, including:

  • Sanctions on PRC government officials responsible for human rights violations in the Uyghur Region, Tibet, Hong Kong and elsewhere in the PRC.
  • Audits of supply chains dependency on the PRC, with a view to building diverse and resilient supply chains that are untainted by forced labour abuses.
  • Increasing political and economic engagement with Taiwan, including through bilateral and multilateral trade and investment deals.
  • Repealing extradition treaties with the PRC and Hong Kong, to protect diasporic groups at risk of the PRC’s transnational repression.

Ann-Sofie Alm MP, Sweden

Lord (David) Alton, United Kingdom

Katarina Ammitzbøll MP, Denmark

Lord (James) Bethell, United Kingdom

Michael Brand MdB, Germany

Reinhard Bütikofer MEP, European Union

Senator Malcolm Byrne, Ireland

Viola von Cramon-Taubadel MEP, European Union

Judith Cummins MP, United Kingdom

Georges Dallemagne MP, Belgium

Rt Hon Sir Iain Ducan Smith MP, United Kingdom

Uffe Elbæk MP, Denmark

Joar Forssell MP, Sweden

Anna Fotyga MEP, European Union

Senator Pavel Fischer, Czechia

Representative Mike Gallagher, United States

Senator André Gattolin, France

Guri Melby MP, Norway

Avdullah Hoti MP, Kosovo

Senator Leo Housakos, Canada

Tom Kmiec MP, Canada

Mykola Kniazhytskyi MP, Ukraine

Bardhyl Kollcaku MP, Albanian

Gyde Jensen MDB, Germany

Elisabet Lann, Sweden

Ingrid Leary MP, New Zealand

Tom van der Lee MP, Netherlands

David Lega MEP, European Union

Tim Loughton MP, United Kingdom

Fredrik Malm MP, Sweden

Lisa Mazzone MP, Switzerland

Hugh McDermott MP, Australia

Senator Michael McDowell, Ireland

Fatmir Mediu MP, Albania

Oleksandr Merezhko MP, Ukraine

Baroness (Catherine) Meyer, United Kingdom

Antonio Miloshoski MP, North Macedonia

Senator David Norris, Ireland

Cassy O’Connor MP, Australia

Simon O’Connor MP, New Zealand

Senator James Paterson, Australia

Žygimantas Pavilionis MP, Lithuania

Dovilė Šakalienė MP, Lithuania

Sjoerd Sjoerdsma MP, Netherlands

Henry Smith MP, United Kingdom

Cătălin Teniță MP, România

Nicolas Walder, Switzerland

Senator Barry Ward, Ireland

Charlie Weimers MEP, European Union

Next Article