Statement on the Third Anniversary of the National Security Law

June 29, 2023

With deep regret, the Inter-Parliamentary Alliance on China (IPAC) recalls the imposition of the National Security Law in Hong Kong.

The past three years mark a severe deterioration in fundamental rights in the city. Over 50 civil society organisations have disbanded, over 1000 political prisoners have been imprisoned and numerous media outlets have ceased operations.

The character of the City has changed drastically under the jack-boot of the Chinese Communist Party. The abrupt removal of Hong Kong’s prior freedoms has altered its way of life to a degree that would have been unthinkable just a few years ago.

The democratic world cannot simply move on from this egregious violation of international law. Beijing’s unrelenting repression of Hong Kong people must not be rewarded, and the instruments of accountability must not be abandoned.

The IPAC network is united in redoubling our efforts to see that Beijing is held accountable for its abuses, and the sacrifices of those who have suffered for the preservation of Hong Kong’s freedoms are honoured.


Alexandru Muraru MP, Romania
Rep. Akihisa Nagashima, Japan
Anna Fotyga MEP, Poland
André Gattolin, France
Antonio Milošoski, North Macedonia
Senator Barry Ward, Ireland
Boris Mijatović MdB, Germany
Cătălin Teniță, Romania
Senator Claire Chandler, Australia
Lord (David) Alton of Liverpool, United Kingdom
David Lega MEP, Sweden
Dovilė Šakalienė MP, Lithuania
Driton Selmanaj MP, Kosovo
Elisabet Lann, Sweden
Eva Decroix, Czechia
Engin Eroglu MEP, Germany
Fabian MolinaMP, Switzerland
Fatmir Mediu MP, Albania
François-Xavier Bellamy MEP, France
Rep Georges Dallemagne, Belgium
Guri Melby MP, Norway
Gyde Jensen MdB, Germany
Hilde Vautmans MEP, Belgium
Dr. Hugh McDermott MP, Australia
Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP, United Kingdom
Professor Irwin Cotler, Canada
James Bezan MP, Canada
Senator James Paterson, Australia
Joar Forssell MP, Sweden
Senator Mary Seery-Kearney, Ireland
Michael Brand MdB, Germany
Senator Michael McDowell, Ireland
Miriam Lexmann MEP, Slovakia
Mykola Kniazhytskyi, Ukraine
Nicolas Walder MP, Switzerland
Oleksandr Merezhko, Ukraine
Senator Olivier Cadic, France
Senator Pavel Fischer, Czechia
Reinhard Bütikofer MEP, European Union
Simon O’Connor MP, New Zealand
Sjoerd Sjoerdsma MP, The Netherlands
Tim Loughton MP, United Kingdom
Tom van der Lee MP, The Netherlands
Viola von Carmon MEP, Germany
Clr. Yasue Funayama, Japan
Žygimantas Pavilionis MP, Lithuania

Next Article